Email This Post Email This Post Print This Post Print This Post
Home » Education, News

Three Arkansas students named Presidential Scholars

By: 13 May 2011 One Comment

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

LITTLE ROCK-Three top Arkansas students have won an elite national academic award.

Neha Kumar of Forrest City; Boshan Zhao of Little Rock; and Eric B. Zheng of Little Rock were selected among the 2011 U.S. Presidential Scholars.

“We congratulate the Arkansas winners of this prestigious award,” Arkansas Education Commissioner Tom Kimbrell said. “They certainly are examples of the best of the best of academic achievers throughout Arkansas.”

U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan announced the selections made by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars. There were 141 high school seniors chosen nationwide. They will be recognized during events in Washington, D.C.

Kumar attends Saint Mary’s Episcopal School in Memphis; Zhao, Central High School in Little Rock; and Zheng, Pulaski Academy in Little Rock.

For the announcement from the US. Department of Education, see

About: Jamie Smith:
Experienced reporter who is now an entrepreneur. Jamie's Notebook offers writing services including press releases, corporate blogging and feature writing.

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.