Email This Post Email This Post Print This Post Print This Post
Home » News, Politics

Arkansas Republicans extend lead in state constitutional offices

By: 3 November 2010 One Comment

While most of the Arkansas elections were decided last night, there were still a few offices where more returns were needed to figure out which way they’d go.

The lieutenant governor, secretary of state and land commissioners were deemed too close to call late last night, but it appears some winners have emerged today.

In the secretary of state’s race, Republican Mark Martin has defeated Democrat Pat O’Brien. Martin rolled here in Saline County with 19,619 votes to O’Brien’s 14,634.

In the land commissioner’s race, Republican John Thurston has beaten Democrat L.J. Bryant. Thurston carried Saline County with 20,407 votes to Bryant’s 13,175.

In the lieutenant governor’s race, it appears that Republican Mark Darr has beaten Democrat Shane Broadway. Broadway did carry Saline County with 19,362 votes to Darr’s 14,884. That’s no surprise as Broadway is one of our own and represented us in the state Senate for two years.

The lieutenant governor’s race is the only one in which a winner has not been declared or an opponent hasn’t conceded. However, Jason Tolbert over at The Tolbert Report said it’s only a matter of time before Darr is declared the winner. Tolbert knows what he’s talking about as he called the secretary of state and land commissioner races pretty well before anyone else.

Click here for more election results from First Arkansas News. You can view KATV’s vote totals here and Saline County results here.

Think we’re done with political coverage for awhile? Not hardly. A good number of the candidates that won on Tuesday will be contacted and interviewed for a series of “winner’s circle” articles. Stay tuned…

About: Ethan C. Nobles:
Benton resident. Rogue journalist. Recovering attorney. Email =

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.